West African Irrigation Development and Management Agencies (WAIDMA)

Why West African Irrigation Development and Management Agencies (WAIDMA)?

WAIDMA are a major actor in irrigation in West Africa. They act as a link between the sectorial ministries in charge of irrigation within countries and the irrigators in large so-called "public" irrigation schemes, which are generally co-managed by the WAIDMA (irrigation administration) and the users, who are often organised in associations and/or producer groups. WAIDMA are the heirs of a long history that began during the colonial period or when African countries gained independence. Their missions have evolved significantly over time, particularly due to criticism of their ability to manage the schemes under their responsibility in a way that supports the development of productive irrigated agriculture while also consuming water resources efficiently. What is needed now is to collectively re-think the future of these organisations and reinvent the place they should have in a sector undergoing profound change.

What do we do?

Since the beginning of COSTEA in 2013, we have been participating in and facilitating the work of reflection carried out between 11 WAIDMA in 6 countries of the Sahel Irrigation Initiative (Bagrépôle and AMVS in Burkina Faso, Office du Niger, ODRS, OPIB and ORS in Mali, SONADER in Mauritania, ONAHA in Niger, SAED and SODAGRI in Senegal, and ANADER in Chad), farmer-irrigators and their organisations, local authorities, professional structures and NGOs involved in irrigated agriculture and working in the areas of action of the 11 WAIDMA.

Public bodies, project owners and managers of large hydro-agricultural systems, as well as their partners in these territories, can thus acquire the methods and tools to become key actors in the SAHEL Irrigation Initiative, and so significantly contribute to achieving the objectives of the Dakar Declaration of October 2013. In relation to WAIDMA, we are specifically studying four themes: the transfer of management to irrigators in the areas of action of WAIDMA; the management of irrigation and land tenure in the areas of action of WAIDMA; the involvement of WAIDMA in the organisation of value chains and the role of WAIDMA in project ownership.

FURTHER READING

the West African network of Planning Agencies and Irrigation Management (ROA-WAIDMA) POSTER

You can consult the Dakar Declaration of October 2013

You can read the Framework Paper (both in French) for our WAIDMA actions

WORK ON VALUE CHAIN ORGANISATION:  Terms of Reference

ACK International was recruited in September 2020 for being in charhge of this action. You can consult :

WORK ON TRANSFERRING MANAGEMENT TO IRRIGATORS: Terms of Reference

Since 2020, the GRET and SCP consortium is in charge of this work. You can consult its:

WORK ON THE MANAGEMENT OF IRRIGATION AND LAND TENURE: Terms of Reference (in French)

Sylvatrop Consulting has been the service provider for this work since September 2020. You can discover its:

WORK ON THE MANAGEMENT OF PROJECT OWNERSHIP: Terms of Reference

CACG and SCP have been in charge of this work since March 2021. You can consult :

COSTEA PUBLICATIONS :

Comparative diagnosis of eleven West African Irrigation Development and Management Agencies (AMVS, ANADER, BAGRÉPÔLE, ODRS, ON, ONAHA, OPIB, ORS, SAED, SODAGRI, SONADER)  BAZILE AC, VENNAT B and VENOT JP – 2020

Les Sociétés d‘Aménagement et de Gestion de l’Irrigation en Afrique de l’Ouest

Pourquoi les Sociétés d‘Aménagement et de Gestion de l’Irrigation en Afrique de l’Ouest?

Les Sociétés d’Aménagement et de Gestion de l’Irrigation (SAGI) sont un acteur majeur de l’irrigation en Afrique de l’Ouest. Elles servent de relais entre les ministères sectoriels en charge de l’irrigation des pays et les irrigants dans les grands périmètres dits « publics » qui sont généralement cogérés par les SAGI (administration de l’irrigation) et les usagers souvent organisés en associations et/ou groupement de producteurs. Les SAGI sont les héritières d’une longue histoire commencée à la période coloniale ou à l’indépendance des pays Africains. Elles ont vu leurs missions évoluer de façon significative au cours du temps, notamment du fait des critiques dont elles ont fait l’objet en ce qui concerne leurs capacités à gérer les périmètres dont elles avaient la charge afin de soutenir le développement d’une agriculture irriguée productive tout en étant consommatrice efficiente de ressources en eau. Il s’agit aujourd’hui de mener des réflexions collectives sur le futur de ces organisations et de réinventer la place à leur donner dans un secteur en profonde mutation

Que faisons-nous?

Depuis le début du COSTEA en 2013, nous participons et facilitons le travail de réflexion mené entre 11 SAGI dans 6 pays de l’Initiative pour l’Irrigation au Sahel (BAGREPOLE et AMVS au Burkina Faso, Office du Niger, ODRS, OPIB et ORS au Mali, SONADER en Mauritanie, ONAHA au Niger, SAED et SODAGRI au Sénégal, et ANADER au Tchad), les agriculteurs-irrigants et leurs organisations, les collectivités locales (communes), les structures professionnelles et les ONG impliquées dans l’agriculture irriguée, et intervenant dans les zones d’action de ces 11 SAGI

Les structures publiques, maîtres d’ouvrages et gestionnaires des grands systèmes hydroagricoles, et leurs partenaires sur ces territoires peuvent ainsi se doter des méthodes et des outils qui leur permettent d’être des acteurs majeurs de l’Initiative pour l’Irrigation au SAHEL, et ainsi de contribuer significativement à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Déclaration de Dakar d’octobre 2013. Au niveau des SAGI nous étudions spécifiquement 4 thématiques : le transfert de gestion aux irrigants dans les Zones d’action SAGI ; la gestion du foncier irrigué dans les Zones d’action SAGI ; l’implication des SAGI dans l’organisation des filières et le rôle de Maitrise d’ouvrage des SAGI

Pour aller plus loin

Vous pouvez retrouver la Déclaration de Dakar d’octobre 2013

Vous pouvez lire la Note de Cadrage de nos actions SAGI

CHANTIER ORGANISATION DES FILIERES :  Vous pouvez lire les Termes de Référence

ACK International a été recruté en septembre 2020 en tant que prestataire. Vous pouvez prendre connaissance de :

CHANTIER TRANSFERT DE GESTION AUX IRRIGANTS : Vous pouvez lire les Termes de Référence

Depuis 2020, un groupement GRET et SCP est en charge de ce chantier. Vous pouvez retrouver :

CHANTIER GESTION DU FONCIER IRRIGUE : Vous pouvez lire les Termes de Références

Sylvatrop Consulting est le prestataire de ce chantier depuis septembre 2020. Vous pouvez découvrir :

CHANTIER GESTION DE MAITRISE D’OUVRAGE : Vous pouvez lire les Termes de Référence

PRODUCTIONS COSTEA :

Diagnostic comparé des 11 Sociétés d’Aménagements et de gestion de l’irrigation en Afrique de l’Ouest (AMVS, ANADER, BAGRÉPÔLE, ODRS, ON, ONAHA, OPIB, ORS, SAED, SODAGRI, SONADER)  BAZILE AC, VENNAT B et VENOT JP – 2020